Nos. CIV.A.97-1978(PLF), CIV.A.98-1693(PLF).

217 F.Supp.2d 95 (2002)

Timothy PIGFORD, et al., Plaintiffs, v. Ann M. VENEMAN, Secretary, United States Department of Agriculture, Defendant. Cecil Brewington, et al., Plaintiffs, v. Ann M. Veneman, Secretary, United States Department of Agriculture, Defendant.

United States District Court, District of Columbia.

September 11, 2002.

Attorney(s) appearing for the Case

Jacob A. Stein, Stein, Mitchell & Mezines, Alexander John Pires, Jr., Conlon, Frantz, Phelan & Pires, David A. Branch, Anthony Herman, Covington & Burling, Richard Talbot Seymour, Lieff, Cabraser, Heimann & Bernstein, LLP, Washington, DC, J. L. Chestnut, Jr., Chestnut, Sanders, Sanders, Pettaway, Campbell & Albright, Selma, AL, John Michael Clifford, Mona Lyons, Clifford, Lyons & Garde, Caroline Lewis Wolverton, U.S. Department of Justice, Washington, DC, Marcus B. Jimison, Stephon J. Bowens, Durham, NC, Phillip L. Fraas, Washington, DC, for Plaintiffs.

Michael Sitcov, Terry M. Henry, Susan Hall Lennon, U.S. Department of Justice Civil Division, Daniel Edward Bensing, U.S. Department of Justice Federal Programs Branch, Amanda Quester, Federal Trade Commission Bureau of Consumer Protection, David Monro Souders, Weiner Brodsky Sidman & Kider, PC., Elizabeth Goitein, U.S. Department of Justice, Civil Division, Washington, DC, for Defendants.

Wyndell Oliver Banks, Washington, DC, for Non party.

Randi Ilyse Roth, St. Paul, MN, Pro se.

John Wesley Davis, Washington, DC, James W. Myart, Jr., Law Offices of James W. Myart, Jr., & Associates, San Antonio, TX, for Claimant.

Evans M. Folins, Los Valores, CA, Pro se.

Dennis Charles Sweet, Lanston, Frazer, Sweet & Freese, Jackson, MS, Ford C. Ladd, Alexandria, VA, Gerald Robert Lear, Arlington, VA, for Movants.

Evelyn M. Coleman, Hazlehurst, MS, Pro se.

Willie S. Maymon, Rolling Fork, MS, Pro se.

Colie Dixon, Sr., Georgetown, MS, Pro se.

L D. Maymon, Hazlehurst, MS, Pro se.

Lois S. Clark, Wesson, MS, Pro se.

Curtis Dixon, Jackson, MS, Pro se.

Linda Catching, Hazlehurst, MS, Pro se.

Henry A. Vaughn, Hazlehurst, MS, Pro se.

Floria A. Vaughn, Hazlehurst, MS, Pro se.

Marilynn Stewart, Jackson, MS, Pro se.

Ezra McNair, Crystal Springs, MS, Pro se.

Grover Miller, Georgetown, MS, Pro se.

Geraldstine Miller, Georgetown, MS, Pro se.

Larry D. Barnes, Harrisville, MS, Pro se.

Edith Lomax-Barnes, Crystal Springs, MS, Pro se.

Daryl Brentr, Pinola, MS, Pro se.

Curtis Dixon, Jackson, MS, Pro se.

Harold B. Dixon, Hazlehurst, MS, Pro se.

Larry Garrett, Georgetown, MS, Pro se.

Velma J. Collins, Hazlehurst, MS, Pro se.


PAUL L. FRIEDMAN, District Judge.

The Court has before it two motions filed by several pro se members of the plaintiff class: a motion to vacate the Consent Decree in this case or, in the alternative, to stay all proceedings pending order on said motion, and a motion to remove lead Class Counsel, both requesting an emergency hearing.1 Because the Court finds that these motions concern common...


Uncompromising quality. Enduring impact.
Your support ensures a bright future for independent legal reporting.

As you are aware we have offered this as a free subscription over the past years and we have now made it a paid service.Look forward to your continued patronage.



Read it with your Leagle account.
Sign in to continue

Listed below are the cases that are cited in this Featured Case. Click the citation to see the full text of the cited case. Citations are also linked in the body of the Featured Case.

Cited Cases

  • No Cases Found

Listed below are those cases in which this Featured Case is cited. Click on the case name to see the full text of the citing case.

Citing Cases