No. 97-20796.

158 F.3d 241 (1998)

Lynwood MOREAU; Kenneth O. Adams; David W. Addison, Jose A. Alvarado; Robert Amboree; Bobby G. Andrews; Randy Anderwald; Gary R. Ashford, Craig L. Bailey; Richard Bailey; Richardo E. Balderaz; Herbert V. Barnard; Gerald Barnett; Paulette M. Barnett; Brad T. Bennett; Bridgett Blackmon; Flynt E. Blackwell; Gary F. Blahuta; Scott P. Blankenburg; Deborah Bliese; Bruce H. Breckenridge; J.W. Brooks; Brian Buchanan; Patricia M. Bui; Don. E. Bynum; Clarence A. Callis; William M. Campbell; Heather Carr; Thomas J. Carr; Paul E. Carpenter; Robert Casey; Mark E. Cepiel; Eladio C. Chavez; Edward A. Christensen; Roy Clark; Denny D. Coker; Alford A. Cook; Gregory P. Cox; Donald D. Crayton; Richard D. Crook, David A. Davis; Gary W. Davis; Christopher E. Dempsey; Russell Dukes; Larry A. Eikhoff; Frank Fairley; David W. Finely; James P. Fitzgerald; Erine R. Fowler; Michael A. Garcia; Thomas M. Gentry; John Godejohann; Robert M. Goerlitz; David Gonzales; Raul V. Gonzales; Miguel A. Gonzalez; Billy Gray; William L. Gray; Lawrence P. Gries; Thomas P. Gurney; Preston R. Halfin; Sammy Head; Neil Hines; Larry D. Howell; Marshall P. Isom; James A. Johnson; Derry L. Jones; David E. Kaup; William C. Kenisell; Howard J. Kimble; Steve Kirk; Edgar D. Knighten; Freddy G. Lafuente; Michael G. Lagrone; Al Lanford; Vernon S. Lemons; Shemei B. Levi; Jeanne Long; Timothy Loyd; Joe S. Magallon; David B. Martin; Pedro Martinez; Russell L. Mayfield; Terry McGregor; Robert C. Meaux; Stephen Melinder; Marty M. Mingo; D.D. Montgomery; Jose L. Morin; Richard O. Newby; Arthur W. Nolley; William R. Norwood; Richard C. Nunnery; Karen D. O'Bannion; Raymond E. O'Bannion; Guadalupe Palafox; Wayne Parinello; Deborah Petruska; James A. Phillips; Simon C. Ramirez; Michael B. Rankin; James C. Reynolds; Willard G. Rogers; Gerald M. Robinson; Joe Ruffino; Lance J. Scott; Rob R. Self; Donald Shaver; James K. Shipley; James Smedick; Gina K. Spriggs; (Grahmann); Jeffrey M. Stauber; Larry L. Strickland; Billy J. Taylor; Kerry Townsend; Richard S. Trenski; Gordon Trott; Ed Trotti; Richard D. Valdez; Dalton E. Van Slyke; Frank L. Vernagallo; Ruben Villarreal; Johnny F. Walling; Gerald R. Warren; James M. Watson; Thomas G. Welch; John H. Wheeler; Joseph L. Williams; Rwanda Wiltz, Plaintiffs-Appellees, v. HARRIS COUNTY; Tommy B. Thomas; Johnny Klevenagen, Sheriff, Defendants, Harris County; Tommy B. Thomas, Defendants-Appellants.

United States Court of Appeals, Fifth Circuit.

October 19, 1998.

Attorney(s) appearing for the Case

Richard H. Cobb, Houston Police Patrolman's Union, Murray Edward Malakoff, Legal Dept., Houston, TX, for Plaintiffs-Appellees.

Bruce S. Powers, Houston, TX, for Defendants-Appellants.

Before HIGGINBOTHAM, PARKER and DENNIS, Circuit Judges.


Harris County appeals a grant of summary judgment in favor of a certified class of employees, finding that the County's policy requiring the use of accrued compensatory time by its employees contravened 29 U.S.C. § 207(o)(5) of the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA). We are persuaded that the 1985 Amendments to the FLSA do not grant public employees a right to choose when they will use accrued comp time. We reverse...

Let's get started

Welcome to the leading source of independent legal reporting
Sign on now to see your case.
Or view more than 10 million decisions and orders.

  • Updated daily.
  • Uncompromising quality.
  • Complete, Accurate, Current.

Listed below are the cases that are cited in this Featured Case. Click the citation to see the full text of the cited case. Citations are also linked in the body of the Featured Case.

Cited Cases

  • No Cases Found

Listed below are those cases in which this Featured Case is cited. Click on the case name to see the full text of the citing case.

Citing Cases