Nos. 94-5038, 94-5039.

51 F.3d 901 (1995)

Anthony Jerome HARRIS, Gary Middaugh, Theodore Ford, Doyle King, Randy Meyer, Terry Crisp, Michael Farmer, John Honeycutt, Coy Hill, Troy Brown, Deems Rowell, Gordon Bunton, Adam Wright, Robert Manous, Kimball Foreman, Joe Headrick, Terry Steward, Arthur Blackmon, James Smith, Stephen Ross, Johnny Smith, Larry Brown, Walter Robinson, Roger Williams, Kenneth Owens, Marshall Gee, Kelly Craig, Gilbert Payne, Danny Green, Calvin Eslick, Paul Rogers, Michael Smith, Nathaniel Jackson, Johnny Romo, Jeffery Lea, Johnny Davis, Chester Watkins, Ricky Wyatt, Aron Cox, Nero Tecumseh, Joseph Osborne, Joseph Dicesare, William Knittel, James McClain, Eddie Coats, Walter Bowers, Huey Hall, Ronnie Moore, Shane Boggs, Willie Taylor, Clarence Bramlett, Bruce Hill, Larry Ives, Donald Myles, Kevin Cole, Larry Crawley, Edward Teichman, Keith Larkins, Leonard Goudeau, Joel Vanscoy, Robert Richards, Michael Broadnax, Rufus McGee, Kyle Cheadle, Steve Seitz, Timothy Whipkey, Adrian Collins, William Severe, Robert Brixey, Kevin Parker, Lloyd Harjo, Kenneth Burrell, Louis Washington, David Copple, Fred Cook, Robert Schneider, Joel Allen, Boyce Vandenburg, Jerry Stiles, Tony Abney, Jackie L. Adair, Robert Anderson, Ascension Armendariz, Larry Bailey, Charles Barnett, Rogelio Bege, J.C. Berry, Lavern Berryhill, Perry Biffle, Jackie Blanton, Douglas Breeden, Gregory Brians, Arthur Brown, Bobby Bruce, Derek Burger, Larry Butcher, John Byrd, James Cagle, Clifford Campbell, Douglas Capps, Gerald Carroll, Toriano Chandler, Joe Chase, Clyde Chuculate, Joseph Cloud, Johnny Cole, Pam Colley, Ronald D. Cooper, Dennis Cornell, Cyndi Cornell, Germaine Crawford, Rickie Crisp, James Crow, Gerald Daniels, Brian Daniels, Richard Demes, Ronnie Dial, Alfonso Duran, Larry Edwards, Andrew Ephriam, James L. Evans, J.W. Fatherree, Lance Foster, Donnie Joe Frye, Dennis Gaines, Louis Gibson, Ronnie Gilmore, James Godbey, Forest Golbek, Jerry Graham, Lantze Green, Bryan Griffin, James Hamilton, David P. Hammer, Lauren Hankins, Eual Hardt, Michael Hayes, Randy Henderson, Eldon Henderson, Andrea Hester, Archie Hill, Dewayne Holland, Harold Holman, Thomas Honeycutt, Michael Houston, C. Huffstutler, Keith Hunt, Dorris Jackson, Napoleon James, Willie Jemison, Allen Jones, Allen Kaulaity, Jeffery King, Robert Kluver, Fred Knisley, Millard Knox, Clarence Landreth, Bernard Lawson, Odis Lawson, Jr., Qunion Leigh, Frank Logan, Laura Long, Joseph Lyda, Brian Maffee, McKinley Mahan, Patrick Martin, Elijah Martin, Leobardo Martinez, Barry McClure, Glenn McGuire, Patrick Meadows, Juan Mercado, Walter Miller, Jackie Miller, Larry Mills, Gary Minard, William Moore, Abdullah Muhammad, Darphus Murray, Steven Ness, George Nichols, Michael Norman, James Northcross, Richard Olsen, Carmen Patton, Dixie Pebworth, Roger Peterman, Rick Petrick, Gregory Poe, William P. Potts, Michael Prater, James Price, Steven Pyles, Nillson Ramirez, Christopher Ransom, Hazen Ray, Terry Reeves, Kenneth Reynolds, Terrance Richards, Eddie Richie, Michael Riggs, T.J. Roby, Arthur Rodriguez, Victor Rose, Kenneth L. Russell, David Russell, David Sadler, Samuel Sanner, William Sherburn, Monty Shockey, Mary Shoffner, Wayne Shull, Donald Sibit, Canova Singleton, John Smith, Danny Smith, Terry Smith, Michael S. Smith, Anthony Steele, Richard Stone, Thomas Strother, Jamie Struble, H. Stumblingbear, Sherman Surface, Stacey Sutton, Stephen Thomas, David Thomas, Jon Tibet, Johnny Tilley, Roscoe Tilley, Lyman Tomlin, Floyd R. Turner, Cheryl Wagner, Larry Walker, Michael Walling, Walter Walters, Warren Ward, Leslie Warledo, Johnny Washington, Orland Wasson, Joseph Watkins, Thomas Weaver, Andrew West, Jack Whitlock, Robert Whittier, Billy D. Wilkins, Tyrone Williams, Marty Williams, Jack Williams, Thurman Wilson, Donald Wilson, Willie Wilson, Randy Wood, Kevin Wood, Sr., Robert Woods, Billie Woolsey, Charles Wooten, Galen Wooten, Sharlene Workman, Coy Yocham, Floyd Zeigler, Floyd Harris, Roosevelt McCoy, Gregory Mundine, Donald O'Shields, Gerald Thompson, Terry P. Crow, Brian Leroy Jordan, Terry Lynn Rhine, Leron Robinson, Carol Ann Pierce, Richard Lee Johnson, Robert M. Estrada, David Richard, Plaintiffs-Appellants, v. Ron CHAMPION, Steve Hargett, Stephen Kaiser, Bobby Boone, Dan Reynolds, Joy Hadwiger, R. Michael Cody, Edward Evans, R. Jack Cowley, Neville Massie, H.N. Scott, Sue Frank, Denise Spears, Earl Allen, Jim Sorrels, Wardens, and all other Wardens of Correctional Facilities of the State of Oklahoma having custody of any of the Plaintiffs; The Oklahoma Department of Corrections; Gary Maynard, the Director of the Oklahoma Department of Corrections; The Oklahoma Court of Criminal Appeals; The Judges of The Oklahoma Court of Criminal Appeals, to-wit, Honorable James F. Lane, Honorable Gary L. Lumpkin, Honorable Tom Brett, Honorable Ed H. Parks, and Honorable Charles A. Johnson; The State of Oklahoma; The Oklahoma Indigent Defense System; Henry A. (Hank) Meyer, III, Chairman, Richard Reeh, Doug Parr, Richard James, and Becky Pfefferbaum, M.D., individually and as Members of the Oklahoma Indigent Defense System Board; Patti Palmer, individually and as Executive Director of the Oklahoma Indigent Defense System; and E. Alvin Schay, individually and as Appellate Indigent Defender, i.e., Chief Administrative Officer of the Oklahoma Appellate Indigent Defender Division, Defendants-Appellees.

United States Court of Appeals, Tenth Circuit.

March 30, 1995.

Attorney(s) appearing for the Case

Anthony Jerome Harris, pro se.

John E. Dowdell, Norman & Wohlgemuth, Tulsa, OK, for plaintiffs-appellants.

Susan B. Loving, Atty. Gen. of Okl., Lisa Tipping Davis, Asst. Atty. Gen., Oklahoma City, OK, for defendants-appellees Wardens, State of Okl. and Atty. Gen. of Okl.

J. Warren Jackman and William A. Caldwell, Pray, Walker, Jackman, Williamson & Marlar, Tulsa, OK, and Gary Peterson, Oklahoma City, OK, for defendants-appellees Okl. Indigent Defense System.

John M. Imel and John E. Rooney, Jr., Moyers, Martin, Santee, Imel & Tetrick, Tulsa, OK, and Gail L. Wettstein, Oklahoma City, OK, for defendants-appellees Okl. Court of Crim. Appeals.

Before BRORBY, LOGAN, and EBEL, Circuit Judges.

BRORBY, Circuit Judge.

Plaintiffs-appellants, all of whom were convicted of felonies in Oklahoma and were represented by defendant-appellee Oklahoma Indigent Defense System (OIDS) on their direct appeals in state court, brought suit asserting habeas and civil rights claims against defendants-appellees as a result of allegedly unconstitutional delay by the state in adjudicating plaintiffs' direct criminal appeals. Plaintiffs alleged that inordinate and unjustified...


Uncompromising quality. Enduring impact.
Your support ensures a bright future for independent legal reporting.

As you are aware we have offered this as a free subscription over the past years and we have now made it a paid service.Look forward to your continued patronage.



Read it with your Leagle account.
Sign in to continue

Listed below are the cases that are cited in this Featured Case. Click the citation to see the full text of the cited case. Citations are also linked in the body of the Featured Case.

Cited Cases

  • No Cases Found

Listed below are those cases in which this Featured Case is cited. Click on the case name to see the full text of the citing case.

Citing Cases