Nos. 92-1619, 92-1620, 93-1028 & 93-1053.

24 F.3d 1441 (1994)

BELL ATLANTIC TELEPHONE COMPANIES, et al., Petitioners, v. FEDERAL COMMUNICATIONS COMMISSION, et al., Respondents, Rochester Telephone Corporation, et al., Intervenors.

United States Court of Appeals, District of Columbia Circuit.

Decided June 10, 1994.

Attorney(s) appearing for the Case

Mark L. Evans argued the cause for petitioners. With him on the briefs were Gerald Goldman, Alan I. Horowitz, Lawrence W. Katz, Matthew R. Sutherland, Thomas E. Taylor, Robert A. Mazer, James L. Wurtz, Jeffrey B. Thomas, James P. Tuthill, Richard C. Hartgrove, Michael J. Zpevak, Michael S. Pabian, and Robert S. Lynch. John G. Mullan, Alfred W. Whittaker, and Floyd S. Keene entered appearances in 92-1620. Durwood D. Dupre entered an appearance in 93-1028. Robert B. McKenna, Jr. entered an appearance in 93-1053.

Laurence N. Bourne, Counsel, F.C.C., argued the cause for respondents. With him on the brief were Renee Licht, Acting General Counsel, F.C.C., Daniel M. Armstrong, Associate General Counsel, F.C.C., John E. Ingle, Deputy Associate General Counsel, F.C.C., Anne K. Bingaman, Asst. Atty. Gen., Robert B. Nicholson and Robert J. Wiggers, Attys., U.S. Dept. of Justice. Laurel R. Bergold, Counsel, F.C.C., entered an appearance.

On the joint brief for Telecom intervenors were Andrew D. Lipman, Russell M. Blau, Michael E. Ward, Frank W. Krogh, Donald J. Elardo, W. Theodore Pierson, Jr., Michael L. Glaser, Harsha Krishnan, and Robert J. McKee.

On the joint brief for State intervenors were William Paul Rodgers, Charles D. Gray, James Bradford Ramsay, John F. Povilaitis, and Veronica A. Smith.

On the joint brief for intervenors New England Tel. and Tel. Co. and New York Telephone Co. were E. Edward Bruce, Robert A. Long, Jr., John F. Duffy, Edward R. Wholl, and Joseph DiBella.

On the brief for intervenor U.S. Telephone Ass'n was Martin T. McCue.

Michael J. Shortley, Joseph P. Benkert, Michael L. Glaser, Richard M. Rindler, William T. Pierson, Jr., Henry D. Levine, James L. Casserly, David A. Nall, Herbert E. Marks, Peter D. Keisler, Marc E. Manly, Brian R. Moir, Alan I. Horowitz, Mark L. Evans, Gerald Goldman, William B. Barfield, Matthew R. Sutherland, Vonya B. McCann, Theodore D. Frank, Thomas E. Taylor, Gail L. Polivy, Richard M. Cahill, Richard McKenna, Robert A. Mazer, James L. Wurtz, Jeffrey B. Thomas, James P. Tuthill, Margaret deB. Brown, Richard C. Hartgrove, Michael J. Zpevak, Floyd S. Keene, Lawrence W. Katz, Michael D. Lowe, John G. Mullan, Alfred W. Whittaker, Michael S. Pabian, David Cosson, and L. Marie Guillory entered appearances for intervenors.

Before MIKVA, Chief Judge; WILLIAMS and SENTELLE, Circuit Judges.

Opinion for the Court filed by Circuit Judge SENTELLE.

SENTELLE, Circuit Judge:

Local telephone exchange companies ("LECs") petition for review of two orders of the Federal Communications Commission, promulgated in an informal rulemaking, that require the LECs to set aside a portion of their central offices for occupation and use by competitive access providers ("CAPs"). Expanded Interconnection with Local Telephone Company Facilities (FCC Docket No...

Let's get started

Welcome to the leading source of independent legal reporting
Sign on now to see your case.
Or view more than 10 million decisions and orders.

  • Updated daily.
  • Uncompromising quality.
  • Complete, Accurate, Current.

Listed below are the cases that are cited in this Featured Case. Click the citation to see the full text of the cited case. Citations are also linked in the body of the Featured Case.

Cited Cases

  • No Cases Found

Listed below are those cases in which this Featured Case is cited. Click on the case name to see the full text of the citing case.

Citing Cases