Nos. 90-102, 90-122.

579 A.2d 1036 (1990)

In re VERMONT SUPREME COURT ADMINISTRATIVE DIRECTIVE NO. 17 and Harriet and Donald Smith, et al. v. The VERMONT SUPREME COURT, The Honorable Frederic W. Allen, The Honorable Louis P. Peck, The Honorable Ernest W. Gibson III, The Honorable John A. Dooley, The Honorable James L. Morse, in their Individual Administrative Capacities as Justices of the Vermont Supreme Court.

Supreme Court of Vermont.

May 31, 1990.

Attorney(s) appearing for the Case

John F. Evers of Langrock Sperry Parker & Wool, Middlebury, Jerome F. O'Neill of O'Neill and Crawford, Burlington, and Deborah T. Bucknam, St. Johnsbury, for petitioners/appellants.

Jeffrey L. Amestoy, Atty. Gen., and Robert W. Gagnon and Marilyn Skoglund, Asst. Attys. Gen., Montpelier, for respondents/appellees.

Before GIBSON, DOOLEY and MORSE, JJ., and BARNEY, C.J. (Ret.) and KEYSER, J. (Ret.), Specially Assigned.

BARNEY, Chief Justice (Ret.), Specially Assigned.

Petitioners brought a petition for extraordinary relief under V.R.A.P. 21 seeking a declaration that an administrative directive of this Court ordering the delay of most civil jury trials until after July 1, 1990 for budgetary reasons is unconstitutional. Petitioners were also plaintiffs in a superior court suit seeking substantially the same relief and have appealed the dismissal of that action. We dismiss the petition...

Let's get started

Welcome to the leading source of independent legal reporting
Sign on now to see your case.
Or view more than 10 million decisions and orders.

  • Updated daily.
  • Uncompromising quality.
  • Complete, Accurate, Current.

Listed below are the cases that are cited in this Featured Case. Click the citation to see the full text of the cited case. Citations are also linked in the body of the Featured Case.

Cited Cases

  • No Cases Found

Listed below are those cases in which this Featured Case is cited. Click on the case name to see the full text of the citing case.

Citing Cases