No. 07-15900.

576 F.3d 957 (2009)

Charles T. MADDEN; Shashidhar Acharya, M.D.; Achauer Family Limited Partnership, a limited partnership; Angela Allevato, M.D.; Robert A. Baird, M.D.; Annette C. Bernhut-Caplin, D.O.; Thomas W. Broderick, M.D.; Nancy K. Brownell, M.D.; Dawn Lynn Bruner, M.D.; Robert Budman, M.D.; Robert William Buster, M.D.; Michael W. Cater, M.D.; Anna Lisa Chavez, M.D.; Janak R. Chopra, M.D.; Raman Chopra, M.D.; Gaston Cilliani, M.D.; Carmelita R. Co-Casquejo, M.D.; William J. Collins, M.D.; Leo H. Cummins, M.D.; Christina K. Elliott; Mark H. Ellis, M.D.; Stanley P. Galant, M.D.; Sherwin A. Gillman, M.D. and Bonnie S. Gillman, as Trustees for the Gillman Community Property Trust; Keith L. Gladstien, M.D.; Stuart M. Gordon; Kenneth E. Grubbs, D.O.; Norah Gutrecht, M.D.; Thomas A. Hryniewicki, M.D.; R. Judd Jessup; Stanley Kanow, M.D.; Leonard Frank Kellogg Jr., M.D.; Mark E. Krugman, M.D.; Lawrence N. Kugelman; Sandra Barry Lieberman, as successor in interest to Melvyn B. Lieberman, M.D., Trustee for the Melvyn B. Lieberman Trust; Alan Maderious, M.D.; Mark C. Marten; William C. McMaster, M.D.; Maria E. Miñon, M.D.; Judith Harrison-Monge, M.D., as Trustee for the Harrison-Monge 1996 Family Trust; Ronald W. Moreland; Stanley K. Nakamoto, M.D.; Christopher C. Ohman; Kusum Ohri, M.D.; Jack M. Osborn, M.D.; Richard T. Pitts, D.O.; Norman J. Rosen, M.D.; Eric Murrow Rowen, M.D.; Helen Rowen, as Trustee for the Rowen Family Trust Dated May 5, 1982; Mark Steven Rowen; Marshall Rowen, M.D., individually and as Trustee for the Rowen Family Trust Dated May 5, 1982; Scott Jeffrey Rowen, M.D.; Pravin V. Sharma, M.D.; Hal S. Shimazu, M.D.; Sierra Ventures V, L.P., a California limited partnership; Aisha Simjee, M.D.; James B. Tananbaum; Allan G. Weiss; Daniel L. Weissberg, M.D.; Linda F. Weissberg; Laurence D. Wellikson, M.D.; Angela F. Wintheiser; and Allan Wong, M.D., Plaintiffs-Appellants, v. COWEN & COMPANY, a New York limited partnership; SG Cowen Securities Corporation, a New York corporation; Cowen & Company, LLC, a Delaware limited liability company, Defendants-Appellees.

United States Court of Appeals, Ninth Circuit.

Filed August 7, 2009.

Attorney(s) appearing for the Case

Philip Borowsky and Christopher James Hayes, Borowsky & Hayes LLP, San Francisco, CA, for the plaintiffs-appellants.

Linda Goldstein, New York, NY, for the defendants-appellees.

Before PROCTER HUG, JR., JOHN T. NOONAN, and SANDRA S. IKUTA, Circuit Judges.


Judges Hug, Noonan, and Ikuta vote to deny Cowen's petition for rehearing. Judge Ikuta votes to deny Cowen's petition for rehearing en banc, and Judges Hug and Noonan so recommend. The full court has been advised of the petition for rehearing en banc and no judge has requested a vote on whether to rehear the matter en banc. See Fed. R.App. P. 35. Cowen's petition for rehearing and petition for rehearing en banc are therefore denied.

The opinion...


Uncompromising quality. Enduring impact.
Your support ensures a bright future for independent legal reporting.

As you are aware we have offered this as a free subscription over the past years and we have now made it a paid service.Look forward to your continued patronage.



Read it with your Leagle account.
Sign in to continue

Listed below are the cases that are cited in this Featured Case. Click the citation to see the full text of the cited case. Citations are also linked in the body of the Featured Case.

Cited Cases

  • No Cases Found

Listed below are those cases in which this Featured Case is cited. Click on the case name to see the full text of the citing case.

Citing Cases